Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s the start of another week, and I hope all you ladies had an amazing weekend! And since it’s a new week, I felt really creative this weekend and decided to put together a DIY for Newspaper print nails! This is such a fun project that I’m sure you’ll give it a try!

You’ll need the following:

Pure acetone, rubbing alcohol, base coat, top coat, nail polish, Gelous, scissors, brush, and a newspaper (I know I have a magazine pictured, it’s just I couldn’t remember if I had used a magazine or newspaper until I was doing my nails only did I realize that it was indeed a newspaper that I had used).

Start with clean nails and apply your base coat, I always use Seche Vite Crystal Clear Base Coat

Then I used Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Wet Cement I then clean my nails with a Stila #4 lip brush. Now this came to happen only by accident and I swear, this brush is uh-maze-ing for detail cleaning my nails. I use pure acetone and it does not dry the bristles at all. What I do is take a paper towel and fold it twice, pour acetone into the cap of the acetone, dip the brush, and clean the outside area of my nails and cuticles so I have the perfect nail. I use the paper towel to kind of clean off the brush before dipping it inside again into the acetone.

Now, take your newspaper and cut 10 strips of 3 rows of sentences like so

Take a shot glass, or in my case a saki glass and pour enough alcohol to where you can dip in your nail. 

Side note: You can also use vodka, yes, vodka. The first time I did my nails like this I did it with vodka and I ended up having like 3 shots that day lol 😉

Once you have poured the alcohol, your nails should be a little on the dryer side. Dip your finger into the alcohol, and then press the strip of newspaper onto your nails while it’s still wet and smooth it over. You can also dip the newspaper strip into the alcohol and then press it onto your nail and smooth it over and then peel it off (this is the easiest way if you’ve never done this before).

Repeat on all fingers. Then add your Gelous, let it dry for like 3-5 minutes and apply your top coat. The end result should look like this.

Et voilá! You now have amazingly, awesome, super chic Newspaper Print nails!

xoxo

Lola

