Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My nails this week have definitely been inspired by Rebecca Minkoff’s fashion show in New York Fashion Week. The models and beauty insiders, especially those with nail fetishes like myself, were raving about this technique and the amazing outcome of it. So naturally, I had to recreate and give it my own touch.

These are the nails that had everyone going gaga over.

 Aren’t they pretty awesome? They almost look like Vincent van Gogh’s Starry Night painting.

After doing some quick research, I found that Essie nail gurus were behind this awesome nail look. Then I found out how they did it and I was like

really? That’s it?! I got this!!!

So here’s a super easy step by step tutorial on how to achieve your own version of Essie’s Oil Spill nails.

Start with clean nails and apply your base coat. At this moment you want to have your 5 shades of nail polish lined up and uncapped for easy access.

I decided to use Midnight Sky, Virtual Violet, Blizzard Blue, Fuchsia Power, and Time to Shine, all from Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear line. Yes I love this nail polish line! I used them in that order as well.

Start by dotting your first nail polish, it has to have enough nail polish on it to look like a glob, but not too big. You want at least 4 dots for your “base color”, 2 dots from the following 2 nail polishes, 1 dot of your 4th nail polish and 1 dot of your last nail polish.

Your nail should look like this.

Next take either a tooth pick or bobby pin like so

What you want to do is take the end and you’re going to go back and forth across your nail to mix all the colors together like so


It’s going to look like a mess, trust me, that’s ok, once it’s dry it’ll look awesome. Do the same thing to all of your nails. Not every single single nail is gonna be the same, each one will be different… that’s the point.

 Clean up any nail polish that might have gotten on your fingers and apply your top coat. Or if you’re like me, add our gel coat, wait a few minutes, and then add your top coat et voila! C’est fini!


My Oil Slick nails looks like and Oil Slick in the middle of the summer and the sun glistening down on it. I love it!

What do you guys think? Will you be trying it out?

xoxo,
Lola

