Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Dolls!!! So for the past two weeks I’ve been applying my foundation a bit differently than normal and I’ve been doing it like this on my clients as well and it just works! This is one of those tips that sometimes you just want to keep for yourself but it works so well that I had to share.

I don’t know if many of you know about this Makeup Artist Guru: Wayne Goss. He’s been a makeup artist for over 15 years and he’ll be Friday’s #ThatFace recipient so I won’t be putting up any more information about him until then.  But he’s an innovator and has come up with one of the most genius ways to control oily skin and make your makeup last longer. Take a look.

Yes! He suggests to apply your moisturizer, followed by your primer and THEN powder! So I started doing this, take it, I don’t have oily skin, but do have combination skin whenever my face feels like it.

Start with a clean face (please excuse my sleepy face as it is before 6 am)

Apply your moisturizer. I am using my all time favorite, Cetaphil.  I always let it set for a few seconds to let it be absorbed into my face. Then apply your primer. I am using L’Oreal’s Miracle Blur for this demo.

 I let the primer set for at least 2-3 minutes. Then take your HD setting powder and apply to your face.  If you do have oily skin make sure that you apply a good amount of powder. For combination or oily T-Zone, make sure that you apply enough in those areas to control the shine.

After this, just like he said, you can apply your foundation like how you normally would, including your powder blush/bronzer.  If you do have oily skin you can apply your second layer of setting powder to seal it.  If you don’t have oily skin then you can leave it as is. Your makeup will last all day.

In the two weeks that I’ve been doing this I’ve definitely noticed that my makeup lasts so much more longer (and I never re-touch) and my T-Zone was under control with very little to no shine.  I started doing this with my clients as well and anyone that has had oily skin and/or more visible pores has minimized the appearance of them completely. The finish is very velvety and matte. It just looks great and fresh all day!

You can find more of Wayne Goss by checking out his videos here, his site here, Twitter, and Instagram (the man is everywhere!!!) Oh, and he has a line of makeup brushes in which I’ve been hearing great amazing reviews on and I can’t wait to order them! Maybe a birthday gift…. hmm…. 😉

Do you have a makeup trick that covet and never want to share? Would you be trying this new trick?

xoxo
Lola

