Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s the middle of the week, and we’re almost there to the weekend! So exciting! As I was writing yesterday’s post about YSL’s most chic makeup bag ever, I went and took out my makeup bag and gave it a really good look.  I was shocked at how much stuff I had in there that in reality I didn’t need. So I unpacked it and repacked it with my pure essentials and hopefully this guide will help you too.

Just to give you an idea, here’s a picture of what’s inside my makeup bag now…. it’s dark and scary looking!


Yes I know! It’s just dark and nothing pretty! If you pay close attention you can tell that I even carry a nail clipper, safety pins, rings, among other stuff!

Hopefully I can help you un-clutter your makeup bag just like how I was able to do so with mine. Some key points that I had to take into consideration was the fact that a lot of the things that I had in there I really didn’t need so it was making my bag more heavy and bulky.

I came up with some quick little tips that should be able to help you to minimize the items in your bag to where the products that you use more are the only things in your bag.

– Think about your look, your go to every day look. If your look consists of BB Cream/foundation, a shimmery eyeshadow, subtle liner, mascara, and blush then the items that you want to keep in your makeup bag should be something similar as well.  I’m sure that some of your most favorite products is what you use on a daily basis, all those things, set them aside. This will help with what you will actually need in your bag rather than what you think you may need.

– Love and enjoy the multi-taskers or the palettes. If you’re goal is to minimize what you have in your bag, products that have multiple uses or palettes that offer a combination of eyes/blush should be something to consider. Many beauty products out there have this and they come in handy.

– Travel size brushes. I’m sure we’ve all at one point or another we’ve all either bought or been given travel brushes or they might have been included in that awesome new makeup set that you bought. Put them to use! If you’re a girl on the go or like to do little retouches throughout the day, these will definitely help you. Plus I’m sure you don’t want to be carrying around full size brushes in your little bag, it’ll damage them, and we all know that good quality brushes cost.

I took all these pointers and started clearing out my bag and this is what I ended up with

 This is what my makeup bag looks like now. So much less clutter and stuff!


Milani Even-Touch Powder Foundation in 02 Fresco for whenever I need to slightly touch up my “foundation”. I rarely do this, but when I do I only touch up my T-Zone and my dark eye circles.


MAC Fabulously Festive Face Kit.  As you can see, I use this, a lot! But this is a perfect example of a palette that would cover a lot of looks and it’s small and compact.  You can go from just your simple eye liner look to switching it up to a full smokey eye look with added shimmer and you also have blush!


This is my favorite matte bronzer of the moment. It’s Too Faced Chocolate Soleil in medium/deep.  I smells like chocolate!!! And it’s small enough (fits in the palm of my hand) to deliver a beautiful deep shade and I can contour with it as well!


Left to right: Visine, because allergy season is AZ is no joke and dry eyes are not cute! Supergoop! SPF 30, I got this when I was subscribed to Birchbox, perfect way to get excellent travel size beauty products! Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint SPF 20, this has the perfect amount of shimmer to give you a beautiful gorgeous glow and covet it A LOT and use it very sparingly because I love it and just haven’t gotten around to buying the larger size. The always classic Chapstick in Strawberry, Baby Lips in Peach Kiss, and my favorite old red lipstick that a no name brand, literally, it doesn’t have a name on it, all I know it’s that it’s shade N07. Marc Jacobs Daisy sample perfume, Arquiste Flor y Canto sample perfume: you always want to smell fresh, neither of these perfumes are my signature scents but I fell in LOVE with Daisy and Flor y Canto is just in case of an emergency. And last but not least, travel size Smashbox blush brush, blending brush, and eye shadow brush, and MAC 266SE eye liner brush.

Simple right?! Along with this I also included 6 bobby pins, 2 safety pins, and a nail file (because you all know I’m obsessed with my nails).

What do you ladies carry in your makeup bag? Do you have a beauty product that you just can’t live without and must have it with you at all times? Are you going to be cleaning out your bag? 😉 Happy organizing!

xoxo
Lola

