Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good morning! It’s Monday again, no worries, though, you just have to remember that it’s a long weekend! I’m sure that many of us have seen all these Pinterest posts about how to deep clean, properly clean, and how to do your very own makeup brush cleaner. Well, I’m here to crush your dreams about these DIY brush cleaners because my dreams were crushed too.

I’m sure you’re wondering “what the hell is she talking about?”. Well my dear readers, just like you, I love Pinterest and have found many hacks and inspirations. One of those was how to “deep” clean your makeup brushes by using liquid dish soap and olive oil.  Yes, I tried it, and I regret it completely!!!

The instructions were super simple and easy: mix equal parts of olive oil and dish soap – any soap will do. Ok, so I did that.
Then wet your brush and dip it into the solutions and rub, swirl, and get all that gunk and germs off, followed by rinsing with warm water. Ok!! I can do that!!! I did that and this was the result:
A clean brush! Yay! Then I was just tapering off any excess water, as you should so that the ferrule – the metal portion that holds the glued fibers together – doesn’t get wet and therefore loosen the glue. Now, let me make a clarification: I’m very delicate with my brushes. I take good care of them, I don’t pull them or anything. So while I’m tapering the excess water out this happened:  Yes!!!! My ultimately favorite brush came apart!!! I mean it just slipped right out!!! I’ve had this brush for 2 years, I’ve always washed them the same, normally with real makeup brush cleaner, I’ve always tapered off the water, and mold them back to their shape while they’re still wet, as you should.

Before you start questioning if I pulled hard or maybe it was a defected brush, I had already washed 3 other makeup brushes and I immediately went and checked them out by pulling slightly on them to see if it would do the same and they were the same. If I would have pulled even more, the fibers would have come out as well. Knowing that this method was the only different thing I had done to clean my brushes, I knew it was the culprit of ruining it.

Instead, let me help you on how to clean your brushes. Ideally, you should wash your brushes everyday, but I know that we all have lives and things to do and quite frankly, washing our brushes daily isn’t a top priority. You should wash your brushes at least once a week with a real makeup brush cleaner.  My all time favorite is the Beauty Blender Solid soap. It removes everything, including gel liner, restores your brushes to almost brand new, and the best part is it doesn’t damage the ferrule.
This process is simple, take a small bowl and add some water to it, and dip your brush in it and then move on to your soap, rub the brush on it.  Now, for those that have used Beauty Blender solid soap, it comes with like a little tray, you can see that I have 2. I use the spare one as a ‘rubbing’ tool to get the soap into the brush without damaging it.
If you don’t feel comfortable using the little tray then you can swirl the brush on your hand like below until you see clean white bubbles and then rinse it off the same way.

Need to clean your Beauty Blender? The process is very similar. Please, please do not use any kind of acne medication on your Beauty Blender, it will damage it completely. You’re to get your BB completely wet, then rub it on the solid soap, squeeze it a few times, and rinse.

During the week, you can very easily just do a quick clean with the following products:
 I’ve personally used e.l.f.’s brush cleaner for my own personal brushes and I am currently overly obsessed with Bare Minerals i.d. brush cleaner that I use for my kit.  It smells beyond amazing, cleans your brushes instantly leaving your brushes smelling wonderful.  You can also use your makeup remover wipes to quickly clean them.

For your ‘deep’ clean you can use: You don’t have to necessarily use these products, as some may be on the pricer side (that’s why I included e.l.f., they’re super affordable!) but they are your best solution to cleaning your brushes.

Have any of you tried the olive oil and soap method? Have you had the same experience as I did? Has it worked perfectly fine for you?

xoxo
Lola

