Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morning! Happy Monday! Hope your weekend was good, relaxing, and invigorating.  My weekend was fun, relaxing, and productive, so that’s always a good thing! The other day I was reading several articles and I came across one from Harper’s Bazaar where it introduced a new technique for those that are anti-contouring: Strobing.

So what is Strobing? Strobing is when you use light, and light alone, to define your features. So pretty much, just another word for highlighting. With contouring not going any where any time soon, Strobing seeks to become the go-to technique for those that don’t like to contour or for those that contouring is not for them.

Strobing is all about using reflection on high planes and points of the face that always catch the light to spotlight areas.

Strobing How To:

This look requires healthy, naturally-glowing skin as it’s base. Start with a hydrating serum to give your skin that dewyness. A good one with some light coverage would be MAC’s Strobe Cream.  if you need more coverage you can always use a radiant foundation like
Lumi by L’Oreal
NARS Sheer Glow Foundation
and Bobbi Brown Luminous Foundation
to name a few. Follow up by correcting any areas that need to be brightened like under your eyes with like Benefit’s Erase Paste
YSL Touché Eclat
or L’Oreal Magic Lumi
Here is where the fun begins: add shine with a highlighter and a luminescent powder to your face where the light is caught naturally like your cheekbones, bridge of your nose and temples.

I actually tried this look on Saturday just to see if I would like it and I gotta say that it was different not having to apply contour. What I did was just moisturize my face really well, then I applied MAC’s Soft and Gentle on my temples, bridge of my nose, and cheekbones/apples of my cheeks. A lot of mascara and filled in my brows. Sorry I didn’t take any pictures but the Mr. did notice and he said that I looked really radiant, like refreshing – those were his words!

Would you give this a try? Do you think you can go without contouring your face and trying this?

xoxo
Lola

